16 hopefuls eye ABSC posts; no bets for PRO

Photo by Cris Eugene T. Gianan/THE FLAME

SIXTEEN ARTLETS formalized their bids in this year’s Arts and Letters Student Council (ABSC) elections after filing their certificates of candidacy on Tuesday. However, no one ran for the position of Public Relations Officer (PRO).

Political parties Dekada, Grand Alliance for Progress (GAP), Students’ Democratic Party (SDP), and an independent bet composed the preliminary list of candidates.

Gunning for the position of president are former ABSC PRO Wrexler Bayani (GAP), former ABSC Treasurer Rafael Arellano (SDP), and Sociology junior Dindo Jerome Roxas (Independent).

Dekada did not field a candidate for president because they did not want to place someone “without the necessary skillset, experience and passion for such,” campaign manager Rodrich Rebollos told the Flame in a text message.

Contending for the position of vice president for external affairs are Communication Arts (CA) junior Lady Freyja Gascon (Dekada), former Journalism Society PRO (A.Y. 2016-2017) Wilfredo Reyes Jr. (GAP), and former UST Unesco Club President Jeanric Biñas (SDP).

Eyeing the position of vice president-internal are Economics junior Thomas Sandino Baluga (Dekada), Political Science junior Karen Brito (GAP), and Asian Studies junior Anika Simone Imperial (SDP).

CA junior Pauline Bartolo (SDP) and CA junior Candace Umbay (GAP) will face off for the position of secretary.

Meanwhile, former Behavioral Science Society treasurer (A.Y. 2016-2017) Tania Eliesha Luna (Dekada), former Asian Studies Society treasurer Corinne Perdido (GAP), and CA junior Felize Ruth Billena (SDP) will battle for the position of treasurer.

Competing for the position of auditor are Philosophy junior Richard Carlyle Bote (Dekada) and Economics junior Brian Richard Diaz (SDP).

This election season, no one filed for the position of PRO. The Flame has contacted the political parties for comments but to no avail as of press time.

The deadline for the submission of deficiencies and the release of the official list of candidates will both be on April 5.

The campaign period will be from April 6 to 13 while the election period will be from April 16 to 21. The proclamation of winners will be on April 21. F – with reports from Cris Eugene Gianan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts

Contact Us