Journ alumni bag business journalism awards


photo grabbed from the Facebook account of Ayala-EJAP Awards 2018: Glitz & Glam Night

FOUR Thomasian journalism alumni were honored in the 27th Economic Journalists Association of the Philippines (Ejap) Awards, the highest award-giving body for business journalism in the Philippines.

Philippine Star reporter Louise Maureen Simeon of Batch 2015 was recognized as Agriculture/Mining Reporter of the Year. Jasper Emmanuel Arcalas of Batch 2016 won the Best Business Feature Award, Marie Carisa Ordinario of Batch 2002 was named Macroeconomy Reporter of the Year, and Bianca Cuaresma of Batch 2013 was awarded Banking Reporter of the Year. All three are from BusinessMirror.

“Business news can be very technical and data-driven and writing business stories may be boring for some, that’s why it is necessary to write it in a way that would be interesting and understandable to the readers,” Simeon told the Flame in an online exchange.

Arcalas was recognized for a special report on agriculture. The journalism alumnus said he writes to help consumers make better decisions.

“Ang saysay ng pagsusulat ng balita patungkol sa agrikultura ay paghahatid ng makubuluhang ulat na makatutulong sa mamamayang makapagpasiya ukol sa mga bagay na malapit sa kalam ng sikmura: pagkain,” he said.

The Ejap is the country’s premier organization of business reporters, editors, and wire agencies. Every year, it recognizes outstanding reporters in the field of business journalism.

The awarding ceremony was held Wednesday at the Fairmont Hotel in Makati. F

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts

Contact Us