New Artlets CSC officers to resume efforts of current EB

THE NEWLY-elected Artlet officers to lead the Central Student Council (CSC) in the next academic year will continue the efforts of the current Executive Board–to heighten student representation, sustainable projects, and progress on the Students’ Code, outgoing CSC Secretary Krizia Milleny Bricio told The Flame.

Bricio is the new president of the CSC after securing 24,896 votes in the recent polls while recording 3,952 unanswered ballots.

“[There] will be a smoother transition and, of course, we will be able to continue everything that we worked hard on during our term as secretary,” Bricio said.

The “Conduit” and “Constitution Revision” policy will start with an agenda-setting with the Central Board and Executive Board, Bricio said.

“Students can expect na the newly-elected CSC officers will stand for their rights and welfare, push forward initiatives and policies that will benefit them, and continue to amplify the efforts of the current CSC regarding Student Representation,” newly-elected Vice President Gerald Matthew Dela Cruz said.

The outgoing Artlets Student Council vice president-internal won the vice presidential seat with 23,587, while 5,261 Thomasians abstained.

Dela Cruz agreed with Bricio that the Student’s Code, a document drafted in 2004 aiming to protect Thomasians’ rights, would be the priority of CSC.

Isusulong natin na maging policy-driven ang Central Student Council na para at maka-estudyante,” Dela Cruz told The Flame in an online interview.

He also stated that his platform on voter education has begun as they are in the process of identifying possible partner organizations in and outside the University.

“For the Students’ Rights and Welfare (STRAW) Initiative naman we’ll be focusing on setting the general guidelines for online classes para sa next academic year, of course with proper dialogue sa administration and concerned offices,” Dela Cruz added.

Dela Cruz mentioned that he is collaborating with Secretary-Elect Arnet Paguirigan, who has a similar program on voter education, to centralize their efforts and engage more youth. 

Paguirigan is the new CSC secretary after garnering 23,811 votes against 5,037 unanswered ballots.

Meanwhile, Gabriele de Lara of the College of Education was proclaimed PRO with 11,067, beating rival candidates Jerome Espinas with 8,529 votes, Carl Jeric Mataga with 4,812 votes, while 4,440 Thomasians abstained. 

UST-Central Commission on Elections announced the election results Saturday night during the Proklamasyon 2021. F

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts

Contact Us