#ABHalalan2016: Aspiring ABSC officers file candidacy

Aspiring ABSC officers file their certificates of candidacy, marking the start of election season in the Faculty. photo by LORENZO ABEL S. DIONISIO

TWENTY-SEVEN hopefuls formalized their bids in the upcoming Arts and Letters Student Council (ABSC) elections after filing their certificates of candidacy (COCs) yesterday.

There were no independent aspirants in this year’s local polls as all bets came from the four accredited political parties in the Faculty namely Dekada, Students’ Democratic Party (SDP), Grand Alliance for Progress (GAP), and the newly-recognized Student Alliance for the Advancement of Democratic Rights in UST (STAND-UST).

Standard bearers of the political parties are former ABSC vice president for external affairs Ysabela Gabrielle Marasigan (Dekada), Political Science (PolSci) sophomore Samantha Makayan (SDP), former ABSC chief-of-staff Renz Joshua Miguel Esguerra (GAP), and Journalism junior Elizabeth Anthony (STAND-UST).

Running for vice president for external affairs are Economics junior Jacob Israel Basilio (Dekada), Behavioral Science (BES) sophomore Rafael Luis Lopez (SDP), PolSci sophomore Hector Dominic Aleman (GAP), and Philosophy sophomore Paolo Alezandro Nera (STAND-UST).

Meanwhile, former Artistang Artlets treasurer Shaira Joyce Javier (Dekada), Legal Management (LegMa) junior Abdulrahman Mangandog II (SDP), BES junior Ma. Rica Mañalac (GAP), and Journalism junior Tiffany Camille Tolones (STAND-UST) will vie for the position of vice president for internal affairs.

Competing for the position of secretary are BES junior Mariele Carissa Embestro (Dekada), LegMa sophomore Maria Ann San Andres (SDP), Communication Arts (CA) junior Charrie Patricia Tadeo (GAP), and Literature sophomore Lourdes Nita Fausta (STAND-UST).

CA junior Rana Mae Dizon (Dekada), PolSci junior Horacio Tomas Castillo III (SDP), LegMa sophomore Daverick Angelito Pacumio (GAP), and Philosophy freshman Moriah Dianne Dela Cruz (STAND-UST) eye the position of treasurer.

CA sophomore Brian Earl Leshen (Dekada), PolSci sophomore Sebastian Gabriel Elardo (SDP), and Literature sophomore Wrexler Reiven Bayani (GAP) will go against one another for the position of auditor. STAND-UST did not field a candidate for auditor.

Formalizing their bids for the position of public relations officer are PolSci freshman Jan Krianne Pineda (Dekada), CA junior Tiffany Joy Candelaria (SDP), former Communication Arts Students’ Association public relations officer Alisa Robyn Ortonio (GAP), and Sociology freshman Rochel Ellen Bernido (STAND-UST).

Deadline of completing deficiencies will be on April 8. AB Commission on Elections will release the list of eligible candidates on April 9.

The campaign period for the local polls will be from April 12 to 18. F MIKKAH F. FACTOR

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts

Contact Us