6 aspirants file certificates of candidacy for special elections


SIX ARTLETS filed their certificates of candidacy on Thursday to formalize their bids for the Arts and Letters Student Council (ABSC) special elections.

Two independent candidates and four bets under political parties Student Alliance for the Advancement of Democratic Rights in UST (STAND-UST) and Grand Alliance for Progress (GAP) composed the preliminary list of candidates.

Vying for the position of vice president for internal affairs are Political Science (PolSci) senior Clio Marie Bernadette Ocampo (GAP), former candidate for vice president-external in 2016 Paulo Nera (Independent), former AB Debate Parliament Secretary Mary Shane Talapian (Independent), and PolSci junior Jeremiah Pasion (STAND-UST).

The only candidate for the position of secretary is Janina Louise Catap (GAP), who also ran for the same position in the recent elections.

Former Communication Arts Students Association Externals Committee Head Gherick Barlis (GAP) is the sole candidate for the position of auditor.

Political party Dekada, which swept the ABSC elections in 2016, did not field any candidates.

The positions to be filled—vice president for internal affairs, secretary, and auditor—were deemed vacant after previous candidates lost to 678, 766, and 671 abstain votes, respectively in the April elections.

The announcement of the official list of candidates and the deadline of deficiencies and checking of campaign paraphernalia will be on Sept. 9.

The campaign period will be on Sept. 11 to 13, while the special elections will be on September 14 to 16. A Miting de Avance will be held on September 13. F – with reports from CRIS EUGENE T. GIANAN AND JANYN MARIELLA MONTEALEGRE


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts