Dean, 14 Artlets profs honored in 20th Dangal awards



FACULTY of Arts and Letters (AB) Dean Michael Anthony Vasco and 14 Artlet professors were recognized for their loyalty to and service for the University in the 20th Dangal ng UST Awards on Friday.

Vasco, Prof. Joyce Arriola, Asst. Prof Ferdinand Lopez, Assoc. Prof. Jose Arsenio Salandanan, Asst. Prof. Arlo Salvador II, and Assoc. Prof. Marvin Zapanta were awarded the Gawad Benavides for their 25 years of service to the University.

The Gawad Benavides award was also bestowed on Prof. Anna Maria Ward for her 35 years of service to the University, on Assoc. Prof. Myrna De Vera and Prof. Marilu Madrunio for their 30 years of service, and on Asst. Prof. Ralph Galan, John Jack Wigley, Assoc. Prof. Abigail Pagalilauan, and Faculty Secretary Zenia Rodriguez for their 20 years of service.

The Gawad Benavides award is given to professors who have served the Thomasian community for 20 to 50 years.

Creative writing Program Coordinator Chuckberry Pascual was awarded the Gawad Alberto Magno for his research titled “Ang Tagalabas ng Panitikan” and book “Ang Nawawala.”

The Gawad San Alberto Magno award is given to Thomasian professors who excel in the field of research and innovation.

AB alumnus and Center for Creative Writing and Literary Studies fellow Paul Castillo was honored with the Gawad San Lorenzo Ruiz for placing third in Talaang Ginto: Makata ng Taon 2018 by Komisyon sa Wikang Filipino.

The Gawad San Lorenzo Ruiz award is given to educators who have acquired national and international recognition.

UST Rector Rev. Fr. Herminio Dagohoy O.P. said the event’s theme, “Dalawang Dekadang Pagpapala, Pasasalamat at Pagdiriwang sa Tagumpay ng Gurong Tomasino,” fitted the professors who dedicated their time to teach, research, and help society and serve the University.

“[A]ng mga tropeo at kalatas ng pagkilala sa inyo ay wala rito ngayong umaga. Hindi namin ito maibibigay sapagkat naroon sila sa labas ng pamantasan. Sila ang matatagumpay na mga Tomasinong inyong tinuruan at hinubog,” he said.

The awarding ceremony was held at the Medicine Auditorium and organized by the University and the Faculty Unions. F

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts

Contact Us