Six Artlets vie for ABSC posts; three seats remain vacant

file photo

SIX ARTLETS are seeking positions in the Artlets Student Council (ABSC), while three seats will remain vacant in this year’s local polls.

The six students filed their certificates of candidacy last Wednesday but a final list of student council aspirants will be released by the AB Commission on Elections on March 12.

Two sophomores are vying for the presidency namely former UST MaKatha Vice President External Cyrille Coronado (independent) and former ABSC Secretary Kim Czaccei Dacanay (DEKADA).

Coronado, a creative writing major, said she is ready to listen to the concerns of the Artlet community.

“I don’t want to just wait and hope that the qualities that I look for in a leader are in those who will run in this election. I myself will embody the type of leader I want to see,” Coronado said.

Dacanay, a history major, said she would craft “pro-student policies” and ensure the safe transition to face-to-face classes should she win.

“We will continue to listen to the grievances of the students…We have accomplished so much when I was the secretary of ABSC but I think we will be able to start more as the president of the council,” Dacanay told The Flame.

First-year philosophy major and former ABSC executive associate to the internal vice president Timothy John Santiago (DEKADA) and legal management sophomore and former ABSC grievance committee director Ierathel Tabuno (Independent) will compete for the position of vice president-external.

Two candidates under DEKADA will be running unopposed, namely political science freshman Jose Maria Balbaboco, who is running for internal vice president, and journalism freshman Janica Kate Buan, who is vying for secretary.

No one filed for the positions of auditor, treasurer, and public relations officer.

The campaign period will be from March 12 to 17 and from March 31 to April 2, while the Miting de Avance will be on April 2.

The voting period will be from April 4 to 8. The vote canvassing and proclamation will take place on the last day of the voting. F – Karen Renee S. Nogoy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts

Contact Us