The Flame reaps two accolades in national campus journalism awards

The Flame’s winning entry, “Trolling for the truth? Two online trolls claim they are not just after the money” by Ry Philip Jaco Galvan, bested 27 entries from various campus publication nationwide in the 8th UST National Campus Journalism Awards. Screengrabbed from The Varsitarian’s Facebook Live.

THE FLAME, the official student publication of the UST Faculty of Arts and Letters, clinched the best feature award and was cited in the in-depth report category during the 8th UST National Campus Journalism Awards (UNCJA).

Its winning piece, “Trolling for the truth? Two online trolls claim they are not just after the money” by Ry Philip Jaco Galvan, bested 27 other entries from various campus publications nationwide.

A special jury citation was also given to The Flame article “Artlet claims probe into his sexual abuse complaint rushed; AB SWDC says university rules followed” by Bless Aubrey Ogerio and Karen Renee Nogoy in the In-depth report category.

The Flame is among the three publications that will receive P10,000 cash for its winning entries.

The winners were selected based on content (40%), relevance (20%) and impact (20%) of the article, grammar (10%) and structure (10%).

The panel of judges were Pulitzer Prize winner Manuel Mogato, UST journalism professor and veteran political journalist Christian Esguerra, editorial head Camille Diola,  Asia Center for Journalism executive director Luz Rimban, Palanca award-winning author Eros Atalia, and The Philippine Star reporter and UST journalism instructor Alexis Romero.

Romero, also the publication adviser of The Flame, did not take part in the judging of the in-depth and features categories.

The annual contest, hosted by The Varsitarian, recognizes outstanding works at the college or university-level campus publications nationwide for best in-depth report, best editorial, and best feature.

The Flame was founded in 1964 to serve as the voice of students from the then-Faculty of Philosophy and Letters and the College of Liberal Arts. F – Zoe Airabelle Aguinaldo and Trisha Tamio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts

Contact Us