56 Artlets profs honored in Dangal ng UST Awards

Creative writing coordinator Assoc. Prof. Joselito Delos Reyes is among the recipients during the Dangal ng UST Awards on May 9. Screen grabbed from the Facebook live stream of the University of Santo Tomas.

FIFTY-SIX Artlets educators were recognized for their years of service and contributions to their respective fields during the onsite return of Dangal ng UST Awards on Thursday, May 9.

The Dangal ng UST Awards covered academic years (A.Y.) 2018 to 2019, 2019 to 2020 and 2020 to 2021 since the annual event was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Assoc. Prof. Chuckberry Pascual of the literature department was conferred the Gawad Santo Tomas for Most Outstanding Associate Professor and the Gawad San Alberto Magno for Outstanding Artist for A.Y. 2020 to 2021.

Gawad Santo Tomas is given to notable educators who contributed to improving their fields of expertise, while Gawad San Alberto Magno is for professors who stood out in their fields of research and creative works.

Pascual also received the Gawad San Lorenzo Ruiz award for his short fiction, Ang Nawawala, also recognized as the best book in Filipino by the National Book Development Board and the Manila Critics Circle. The award is given to professors who received local and international recognition.

Among the recipients of Gawad San Lorenzo Ruiz was journalism Asst. Prof. Christian Esguerra, who obtained the 2019 Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility (CMFR) Award of Distinction and the 2020 McLuhan Fellow for Excellence in Journalism from the Embassy of Canada in the Philippines.

Prof. Joyce Arriola of the literature department was given the Gawad San Lorenzo Ruiz for her book, Pelikulang Komiks: Toward a Theory of Film Adaptation, which was recognized by the National Academy of Science and Technology as Outstanding Book in 2021. She was also cited for her research on humanities, which earned her the National Research Council of the Philippines’ Distinctive Achievement Award in the Humanities in 2018.

Arriola’s book on the theory of film adaptation was also recognized as Best Book for A.Y. 2019 to 2020, while her exemplary contribution to research on humanities earned her the Gawad San Alberto Magno for Most Outstanding Researcher and Best Published Research for A.Y. 2018 to 2019.

Philosophy Prof. Paolo Bolaños received the Gawad San Alberto Magno for his book, Nietzsche and Adorno on Philosophical Praxis, Language, and Reconciliation: Towards an Ethics of Thinking, which was recognized as Best Book in Humanities and Cultural Studies for A.Y. 2020 to 2021.

Creative writing coordinator Assoc. Prof. Joselito Delos Reyes, who was previously named Outstanding Artist for A.Y. 2018 to 2019, received the Gawad San Alberto Magno and Gawad San Lorenzo Ruiz for his book, Finding Teo: Tula/Talambuhay. His work was recognized by the CMFR as Best Book of Nonfiction Prose in Filipino in 2019.

Literature Asst. Prof. Paul Castillo was awarded the Gawad San Lorenzo Ruiz for his Filipino poetry collection, Luna’t Lunas, which won first prize in the 2018 Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature.

Other recipients of the Gawad San Alberto Magno were sociology chair Prof. Clarence Batan (Outstanding Researcher in Social Science and Education, A.Y. 2019 to 2020), English Prof. Veronico Tarrayo (Best Published Research in Social Science and Education, A.Y. 2020 to 2021), Assoc. Prof. Nerisa Guevara (Outstanding Artist, A.Y. 2019 to 2020) of the literature department and philosophy Asst. Prof. Raniel Reyes (Best Published Research in Humanities, A.Y. 2019 to 2020 and A.Y. 2020 to 2021).

Forty-nine Artlets professors were awarded the Gawad Benavides for rendering more than 20 years of service to UST.

Retired Prof. Arlen Ancheta and Asst. Prof. Carmelita Cabrera were recognized for their 40 years of service, while the late Assoc. Prof. Giovanna Fontanilla was given posthumous Gawad Benavides award for her service. Fontanilla served as UST Public Affairs director before she died in December 2020 due to heart failure.

Behavioral science Assoc. Prof. Milagros Arrevillaga and history department’s Assoc. Prof. Ma. Eloisa de Castro and Asst. Prof. Regina Panlilio were awarded with the Gawad Benavides for their 35 years of service in the University.

The Gawad Benavides awardees who served in the University for 30 years were Prof. Jove Jim Aguas, Prof. Robert Montaña, Prof. Marciana Agnes Ponsaran, Assoc. Prof. Rene Luis Tadle and Asst. Prof. Emerito Gonzales of the philosophy department; Assoc. Prof. Jose Ricarte Origenes and Asst. Prof. Emmanuel Batoon of political science; legal management Asst. Prof. Antonio Chua, history Assoc. Prof. Ma. Venice Picadizo, literature Prof. Luciana Urquiola, Assoc. Prof. Marielyn Quintana and Prof. Camilla Vizconde.

Educators awarded with the Gawad Benavides for their 25 years of service in the University were Artlets assistant dean Asst. Prof. John Manuel Kliatchko, Prof. Arnold Aldaba, Batan, Assoc. Prof. Andres Julio Santiago, Jr., Asst. Prof. Faye Abugan, Asst. Prof. Mildred Antonio, Asst. Prof. Aurora Cristina Bermudez, Asst. Prof. Chrisma Bangaoil-Calumpang, Asst. Prof. Oscar Diamante, Asst. Prof. Maximo Sauz, Jr. and Asst. Prof. Rhodora Lynn Tababa.

Retired academic Asst. Prof. Jocelyn Amongo was also recognized for her years of service to the Artlets community, while Prof. Emillia Consing was given a posthumous award. Consing was a faculty member of the Department of Interdisciplinary Studies before she died in June 2020.

Other recipients of the Gawad Benavides were history chair Prof. Archie Resos, economics chair Assoc. Prof. Carlos Manapat,  Prof. Wilfredo Valois, Bolaños, Assoc. Prof. Arlene Calara, Guevara, Assoc. Prof. Rodrigo Litao, Asst. Prof. Rafael Bautista, Asst. Prof. Emmanuel Domingo, Esguerra, Asst. Prof. John Vincent Ignacio and Asst. Prof. Racquel Jimenez, Asst. Prof. Bernadette Orias, retired professor Felicidad Pereña, Asst. Prof. Antonino Tobias, Asst. Prof. Analiza Yanga and Asst. Prof. Joselito Zulueta, who all rendered 20 years of service in the University.

Vice Rector for Academic Affairs Prof. Cheryl Peralta and acting student affairs director Asst. Prof. Jaezamie Ong were also among those honored for their 20 years of service.

This year’s Dangal ng UST Awards carried the theme, “Gurong Tomasino sa Pagbangon, Paglalakbay, at Pagsulong.” F

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts

Contact Us