Philosophy sophomore is lone candidate for auditor in CSC polls


The official list of the Central Student Council Candidates for the current academic year (photo grabbed from UST Central Comelec/Facebook)

A PHILOSOPHY sophomore from the Faculty of Arts and Letters will be running unopposed for the position of auditor in the coming Central Student Council (CSC) polls.

Independent candidate and former UST Senior High School Student Council (UST-SHS SC) president Dale Marollano is also the only Artlet in the official list of candidates released by the University’s Central Commission on Elections (Comelec).

[N]aniniwala ako na makakatulong ako kasama ang aking mga plataporma hindi lamang sa mga kapwa ko estudyante kung hindi pati na rin sa iba’t ibang sektor sa ating unibersidad (I believe I can help through my platforms not only my fellow students, but also the various sectors in our university),” Marollano told The Flame.

His platforms include strengthening the coordination between CSC and other sectors in the university and advocating for transparency and accountability within the central and local student councils through a centralized council website.

He also proposed the UST Face to Face Code, a “comprehensive pro-student” guideline, to guarantee the safety and readiness of students, teachers, and University employees for the resumption of face-to-face classes.

Four other independent candidates will also run unopposed in this year’s elections.

Outgoing Civil Law Student Council president Nathan Agustin is running for president, while no Thomasian filed a certificate of candidacy for vice president.

“Best of luck to all my fellow candidates. Excited for the discourse we’ll be having this coming campaign period as we learn more about each other’s platforms. Para sa estudyante (For the students),” Agustin wrote in a tweet.

Former UST-SHS SC and College of Education sophomore Francisco Mayuyu is gunning for the position of secretary.

Benjamin Amper IV of the College of Accountancy is aiming for the position of treasurer, while Rhojen Sianda of the Conservatory of Music is running for public relations officer.

The candidates filed their certificate of candidacy last Feb. 28. The campaign period will start on March 5-17 and will continue from March 30 until April 2.

The Miting de Avance for candidates will also be on April 2, while voting will be held from April 4-8.

The proclamation of winners will be on April 8. F

Updated on March 5, 2022 at 10:41 a.m.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts

Contact Us