Kliatchko is new Artlets assistant dean; Ignacio named AB faculty secretary

THE FACULTY secretary of the UST Faculty of Arts and Letters (AB) has been appointed Artlets assistant dean, following the designation of a new acting dean of the college. 

Asst. Prof. John Manuel Kliatchko, who served as faculty secretary of AB from August to December 2023, would assume his post as the Artlets assistant dean starting the second term of this academic year, Artlets acting dean Prof. Melanie Turingan told The Flame on Friday, Jan. 12.

The designation came after Turingan was appointed acting dean of the faculty last December, succeeding Jacqueline Lopez-Kaw, who is now acting dean of the UST Graduate School of Law.

READ: Artlets assistant dean named acting dean

Before he was appointed faculty secretary last August, Kliatchko led the interdisciplinary studies department comprising the Asian Studies, Behavioral Studies and Legal Management programs from 2019 to 2023.

Also the vice president of the Psychological Association of the Philippines, Kliatchko earned his bachelor’s degree in behavioral science and his master’s degree in psychology at UST.

Succeeding Kliatchko as faculty secretary is Asst. Prof. Louie Benedict Ignacio, head of the UST political science department.

Ignacio earned his bachelor’s degree in political science and his doctorate degree in philosophy in political science at the University of Santo Tomas. He also headed the sociology department from 2022 to 2023 before he was named chair of the political science department.

Ignacio will also assume his post starting the second term.

Assoc. Prof. Dennis Coronacion will succeed Ignacio as chairman of the UST political science department. Coronacion earned his bachelor’s degree, master’s degree and doctorate degree in political science from UST. He also led the UST political science department before he was replaced by Ignacio in 2023.

In 2019, Coronacion was appointed the vice president of the Philippine Political Science Association. Two years later, he was promoted to association president, becoming the first ever AB professor to be given the top position. F

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts

Contact Us